Vessel Titling and Registrations

Renewals, Title Transfers and Duplicate Certificates

Vessel Registration Renewals

Individuals owning vessels are required to renew registration in the birth month of the owner. If the vessel is registered in the name of more than one person, the birth month of the person whose name appears first on the registration will be used to determine the renewal date.

For vessels owned by companies, corporations, governmental agencies and registrations issued to dealers and manufacturers, the renewal period is from June 1 through June 30.

Vessel registrations may be processed up to three months prior to the expiration. Renewals can be completed online, by mail or in person. Owners have the option of renewing vessel registrations for either one or two year periods.

Vessel Registration Fees

The chart below indicates the current fee as well as the reduced fee based on the classification of the vessel if it is equipped with an EPIRB or if the owner owns a PLB. For more information on this fee reduction, click here.

Reduced fees are effective July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017 only for those who register in an office.

Vessel ClassificationLengthVessel Registration Fee
Reduced FeeOptional County Fee
Class A-1Less than 12 feet
$5.50
$2.95$4.13
Class A-212 to less than 16 feet
$16.25
$11.00$7.63
Class 116 to less than 26 feet
$28.75
$20.40$11.63
Class 226 to less than 40 feet
$78.25
$57.50$27.63
Class 340 to less than 65 feet
$127.75
$94.95$43.63
Class 465 to less than 110 feet
$152.75
$113.40$51.63
Class 5110 or more in length
$189.75
$141.15$63.63
Dealer Registration
$25.50
$10.63

Registration fees also include a $2.25 service fee and $.50 FRVIS fee, not included in fees above.

COMMERCIAL FEES: An additional $50 commercial vessel license fee is required of all non-residents or aliens unless specifically exempted by statute.

NOTE: The optional county fee is retained by the county where the vessel is registered. Counties that charge the optional county fee are: Broward, Charlotte, Collier, Dade, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Monroe, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Polk, Sarasota and Volusia.

Title Transfers

No one may sell, assign or transfer a vessel titled by the state of Florida without providing the purchaser or transferee with a valid certificate of title. The title must be properly completed, indicating the transfer to the purchaser or transferee.

When vessel ownership is transferred from one individual to another, an application for transfer of ownership must be filed with a county tax collector or license plate agent within 30 days along with a title transfer fee of $5.25. If an application for transfer is not made within 30 days, the purchaser or transferee will be charged an additional $10 fee.

When filing an application for transfer of title, the new owner must provide a county tax collector or license plate agent with the last title issued for the vessel.

Applying for Duplicate Certificates

If a valid Florida vessel registration is lost or destroyed, a duplicate can be obtained from a county tax collector or license plate agent by submitting Form HSMV 87015. If a Florida certificate of title is lost or destroyed, the titled owner can get a duplicate by submitting a completed Form HSMV 82101 and a $6 fee to a county tax collector or license plate agent. The application will be processed and the duplicate title mailed within five working days from receipt of the application. For those counties issuing expedited duplicates and DHSMV offices, a fee of $11 is assessed.