Third Party Administrator Program

Class E Driving Skills Examination Services

Class E Driving Skills Exam (computer tablet required**)

  1. Application for Authority to Conduct Third Party Driver License Testing
    • Indicate the service(s) you are requesting on the first page.
  2. Business Model Summary – required in the Application for Authority to Conduct Third Party Driver License Testing
    • Business Model Summary Template This template should be used for information only and is not intended to provide the exact language for your business model. The business model should detail the manner in which your company plans to provide Class E Driving Skills Exam services.
  3. Contract – Administrator Class E Driving Skills Exam Agreement
  4. Certificate of Incorporation/Certificate of Fictitious Name
    • Corporate information is required for both the parent and subsidiary companies (d/b/a), if applicable.
  5. Commercial General Liability Insurance
    • Certificate must state “30-day notice will be given to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) in the event of policy cancellation.”
    • Required Liability Limits
      • $1,000,000 Each Occurrence
      • $2,000,000 Per Aggregate
  6. Automobile Liability Insurance – required if company vehicles are used to conduct Class E Driving Skills Examination Services
    • Minimum Limits of Liability
      • $10,000 PIP
      • $20,000 PDL
      • $10,000 BIL
  7. Workers’  Compensation Insurance
    • Required Policy Limits
      • $100,000 liability limit for each accident
      • $500,000 policy limit
      • $100,000 each employee
    • Workers’ Compensation Exemption Certifications
      • Exemption Certifications can be accepted in lieu of the required policy limits noted above; however, exemptions will only be accepted for companies with a single owner; sole proprietorship.  If your company plans to have more than one employee involved with any of the Class E Driving Skills Services, you will be required to secure workers’ compensation insurance as required by contract.
  8. Performance Bond – $200,000 – Class E Driving Skills Examination Service Bond Sample
  9. Hold Harmless Endorsement
    • The following statement will need to be provided on your company letterhead, signed and dated by a Company Executive or Corporate Officer: “[your company name (in full) here] indemnifies and holds harmless the State of Florida, Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, and department employees from and against all losses, claims, demands, payments, suits, actions, recoveries and judgments of every nature and description brought or recoverable against it or them by reason of any act or omission of the Third Party Administrator or the Third Party Administrator’s agents, examiners, or other employees in execution of the work or in consequence of any negligence or carelessness in guarding the same.”
  10. Employee Qualifications (all employees)
    • All employees must possess a valid Class E driver license or its equivalent with no cancellations, no suspensions and no revocations of the driving privilege for a minimum of three years prior to and for the duration of the Contract for Class E Driving Skills Examination Services.
    • All employees must maintain a driving record with no more than three chargeable motor vehicle crashes or any violations defined in chapter 316, Florida Statutes, during any consecutive three year period during the term of the Contract for Class E Driving Skills Examination Services.
  11. Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) Fingerprint-Based Background Check (all employees) – LiveScan Information
    • No employees can have any criminal convictions for
      • Offenses bearing on his or her ability to fill a position of trust, including but not limited to, alcohol or drug-related offenses within 10 years prior to the date of submission of the Application for Authority to Conduct Third Party Driver License Testing.
      • Any misdemeanor involving dishonesty or false statement at any time.
      • Any felony at any time.
    • Fingerprint ORI Code FL924360Z for LiveScan
  12. Solutions Thru Software Contract (required) – Solutions Thru Software is the only software vendor available to interested third parties who wish to administer Florida Class E Knowledge or Driving Skills Exam services.

  13. Route Requirements and Approvals
  14. Class E Driving Skills 5-day Training Required – Driving Skills Training Information
PLEASE NOTE:
  • Company name must be listed exactly the same on the documents required in items 1-9 above as the company name noted on your Certificate of Incorporation and/or Certificate of Fictitious Name.
  • Original documents are required to be retained by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Mail your Application and contract documentation to:

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Bureau of Motorist Compliance
Class E Third Party Administrator Program Office
2900 Apalachee Parkway, Room A208
Tallahassee, FL  32399

For assistance regarding the Class E Third Party Administrator Program, please call 850-617-2421, or you may direct questions to TPA-assistance@flhsmv.gov.