Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Home | Español | Driver License | Vehicle Tags & Titles | Florida Highway Patrol | Contact Us | Forms | Office Locations

Dealer Licensing Requirements

If you are considering becoming a dealer of motor vehicles, mobile homes or recreational vehicles, you must be licensed by the state of Florida.

What do you plan to sell?

Florida Motor Vehicle Dealer License Requirements (printable brochure)
Licensing Requirements for Motor Vehicle Dealers

In Florida, motor vehicle dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motorist Services under Section 320.27 Florida Statutes.

The Law

Florida law states that any person, firm partnership, or corporation that buys, sells, offers for sale, displays for sale or deals in three or more motor vehicles in any 12-month period is presumed to be a motor vehicle dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the State.

License Types

There are six classes of licenses issued to motor vehicle dealers. They are:

Independent Dealer (VI) -- for a person dealing in used motor vehicles only. This license permits the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.

Franchise Dealer (VF) -- allows the licensee to sell new motor vehicles under an agreement with a manufacturer. This license also permits the licensee to sell used motor vehicles.

Service Facility (SF) -- is a dealership that performs only service as defined in s. 320.60(16), Florida Statutes, and will not or does not sell or lease motor vehicles.

Wholesale Dealer (VW) -- licensees may only buy from, sell to, and deal at wholesale with other licensed dealers.

Auctions (VA) -- are licensed to sell, on behalf of licensed dealers, through the bid process. Auctions may not sell retail.

Salvage (SD) -- allows the licensee to deal in salvage or wrecked vehicles. Any person who engages in the business of acquiring salvaged or wrecked motor vehicles for the purpose of reselling them and their parts must have a salvage dealer license. If the dealer rebuilds salvaged or wrecked vehicles, the title must be reassigned to an independent dealer for retail sale.

Application

Before going into the business of selling motor vehicles, a person must have a site approved by a Division of Motorist Services Regional Office, for the dealership location. Once the site is approved by a Regional Office Compliance Examiner/Officer, submit a completed application, with required documentation and fees. License applications may be obtained from any Division of Motorist Services Regional Office.

General Licensing Requirements

  • Approval of business location by a Regional Office, Compliance Examiner/Officer.
  • Completed application form HSMV 86056.
  • Fee of $300 for each main location; applicant must make check payable to DHSMV.
  • Original $25,000 surety bond, HSMV form 86020; or a letter of credit, HSMV form 86057.
  • Copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.
  • Copy of the pre-licensing dealer training course completion certificate from a Department approved Dealer Training school. A list of Department approved dealer training schools is available on-line.
  • Independent dealers (VI), Auction dealers (VA), Wholesale dealers (VW), and Salvage dealers (SD) have the option to submit a copy of:
    • A garage liability insurance certificate which shall include, at a minimum, $25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection; OR
    • A general liability insurance policy coupled with a business automobile policy, which shall include, at a minimum, $25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection
  • Franchise dealers (VF) must submit a garage liability insurance certificate which shall include, at a minimum, $25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection
  • Copy of registration of business and/or fictitious trade name(s) with Florida's Secretary of State, Division of Corporations (available on-line at www.sunbiz.org).
  • Copy of corporate papers, corporate meeting minutes showing the election of corporate directors; Articles of Incorporation if the dealership is a Corporation or Incorporation; Articles of Organization and Operating Agreement if the dealership is a Limited Liability Company; or a Partnership Agreement if the dealership is a Partnership.
  • Sales tax number. This can be procured from the State of Florida, Department of Revenue.
  • Federal employer identification number. This can be procured from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service.
  • Fingerprints and applicable fees. ($54.25 per person).
Note: Franchise dealers must meet certain additional requirements.

Failure to Obtain a License

Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person will also be liable under civil law for violation of Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, subject to fines of up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent injunction issued by a circuit court.

More Information

If you have questions about application procedures and licensing requirements, contact the Regional Office.



Licensing Requirements for Mobile Home Dealers

In Florida, mobile home dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motorist Services under Section 320.77 Florida Statutes.

The Law

Florida law states that any person, firm partnership or corporation that buys, sells, offers for sale, displays for sale or deals in one or more mobile homes in any 12-month period is presumed to be a mobile home dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the State.

License Types

There are two classes of licenses issued to mobile homes dealers. They are:

Mobile Home Dealer-- allows a person to deal in new or used mobile homes. This license permits the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.

Mobile Home Broker--allows the licensee to sell used mobile homes only. This license permits the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.

Application

Before going into the business of selling mobile homes, a person must have a site approved by a Division of Motorist Services Regional Office, for the dealership location. Once the site is approved by a Regional Office Compliance Examiner/Officer, submit a completed application, with required documentation and fees. License applications may be obtained from any Regional Office. The Department's website has a list of Regional Offices.

Please note: Mobile Home Brokers do not have to meet the requirements for display space.

General Requirements

  • Approval of business location by a Regional Office, Compliance Examiner/Officer .
  • Completed application, DHSMV form 86056.
  • Fee of $300 for each main location; applicant must make check payable to DHSMV.
  • Annual fee of $40 required for the Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Trust Fund.
  • Original $25,000 surety bond, HSMV form 86018; or a letter of credit, HSMV form 86058.
  • Mobile home dealers selling recreational vehicles must submit a copy of a garage liability insurance certificate which shall include, at a minimum, $25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection.
  • Copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.
  • Copy of pre-licensing dealer training course completion certificate. This class is also offered at Department approved Dealer Training Schools given below:
    Advanced Dealer Training Institute
    1656 Linda Lou Drive
    West Palm Beach, FL 33415
    Telephone: (561) 791-9511, and 1-888-791-9511 (Toll Free)     FAX Number: (561) 791-4926
    Email Address: adti@mvdti.com     Website Address: http://www.mvdti.com
    Automotive Industry Center for Excellence, LLC., (AICE)
    3050 Scherer Drive North, Suite B
    St. Petersburg, Florida 33716
    Telephone Registration: 1-866-930-4577 (Toll Free)
    Office (727) 623-9075     FAX (727) 954-3962
    E-mail address: info@theaice.com     Website: www.TheAICE.com
    Florida Auto Dealer School
    6822, 22nd Avenue North, PMB #117
    St. Petersburg, Florida 33710
    Telephone: 1-866-884-0549 (Toll Free)    FAX (727) 531-2550
    E-mail address: tmyers@floridaautodealerschool.com     Website: www.F-A-D-S.com
  • Copy of registration of business and/or fictitious trade name(s) with Florida's Secretary of State, Division of Corporations (available on-line at www.sunbiz.org)
  • Copy of corporate papers, corporate meeting minutes showing the election of corporate directors; Articles of Incorporation if the dealership is a Corporation or Incorporation; Articles of Organization and Operating Agreement if the dealership is a Limited Liability Company; or a Partnership Agreement if the dealership is a Partnership.
  • Sales tax number. This can be procured from the State of Florida, Department of Revenue.
  • Federal employer identification number. This can be procured from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service.
  • Fingerprints and applicable fees. ($54.25 per person).
  • Completed Registration of Mobile Home Dealer's Salesperson(s) form, HSMV 84045 (available on-line).

Failure to Obtain a License

Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person will also be liable under civil law for violation of Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, subject to fines of up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent injunction issued by a circuit court.

More Information

If you have questions about application procedures and licensing requirements, contact the Division of Motorist Services Regional Office.


Licensing Requirements for Recreational Vehicle Dealers

In Florida, recreational vehicle dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motorist Services under Section 320.771 Florida Statutes.

The Law

Florida law states that any person, firm partnership or corporation that buys, sells, offers for sale, displays for sale or deals in one or more recreational vehicles in any 12-month period is presumed to be a recreational vehicle dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the State.

License Types

There are two classes of licenses issued to recreational vehicle dealers. They are:

New Recreational Vehicle Dealer (RV) -- allow the licensee to sell new and used recreational vehicles. Recreational Vehicle Dealers selling new recreational vehicles must have an agreement with the manufacturer signed by both parties authorizing them as a dealer to sell their line-make.

Used Recreational Vehicle Dealer (RU) -- allows the licensee to sell only used recreational vehicles.

Application

Before going into the business of selling recreational vehicles, a person must have a site approved by a Regional Office, for the dealership location. Once the site is approved by a Regional Office, Compliance Examiner/Officer, submit a completed application, with required documentation and fees. License applications may be obtained from any Regional Office. The Department's website has a list of Regional Offices.

General Requirements

  • Approval of business location by a Regional Office, Compliance Examiner/Officer.
  • Completed application, HSMV form 86056.
  • Fee of $300 for each main location; applicant must make check payable to DHSMV.
  • Annual fee of $40 required for the Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Trust Fund.
  • Original $10,000 surety bond, HSMV form 86019.
  • A copy of a garage liability insurance certificate which shall include, at a minimum, $25,000 combined single-limit liability coverage including bodily injury and property damage protection and $10,000 personal injury protection.
  • Copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.
  • Copy of pre-licensing dealer training course completion certificate. This class is also offered at Department approved Dealer Training Schools given below:
    Advanced Dealer Training Institute
    1656 Linda Lou Drive
    West Palm Beach, FL 33415
    Telephone: (561) 791-9511, and 1-888-791-9511 (Toll Free)     FAX Number: (561) 791-4926
    Email Address: adti@mvdti.com     Website Address: http://www.mvdti.com
    Automotive Industry Center for Excellence, LLC., (AICE)
    3050 Scherer Drive North, Suite B
    St. Petersburg, Florida 33716
    Telephone Registration: 1-866-930-4577 (Toll Free)
    Office (727) 623-9075     FAX (727) 954-3962
    E-mail address: info@theaice.com     Website: www.TheAICE.com
    Florida Auto Dealer School
    6822, 22nd Avenue North, PMB #117
    St. Petersburg, Florida 33710
    Telephone: 1-866-884-0549 (Toll Free)    FAX (727) 531-2550
    E-mail address: tmyers@floridaautodealerschool.com     Website: www.F-A-D-S.com
  • Copy of registration of business and/or fictitious trade name(s) with Florida's Secretary of State, Division of Corporations (available on-line at www.sunbiz.org)
  • Copy of corporate papers, corporate meeting minutes showing the election of corporate directors; Articles of Incorporation if the dealership is a Corporation or Incorporation; Articles of Organization and Operating Agreement if the dealership is a Limited Liability Company; or a Partnership Agreement if the dealership is a Partnership.
  • Sales tax number. This can be procured from the State of Florida, Department of Revenue.
  • Federal employer identification number. This can be procured from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service.
  • Fingerprints and applicable fees. ($54.25 per person).

Failure to Obtain a License

Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person will also be liable under civil law for violation of Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, subject to fines of up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent injunction issued by a circuit court.

More Information

If you have questions about application procedures and licensing requirements, contact Division of Motorist Services, Bureau of Motor Vehicle Field Operations, Regional Office. The Department's website has a list of Regional Offices.


Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | MyFlorida.com
Copyright ©2011 State of Florida